For the love of Elmo

My nephew’s favorite character now is Elmo.  Actually two of my nephews adore that crazy big eyed red fur ball.  Bubby, as we affectionately call the older of the two Elmo lovers, had his 3rd birthday party today.  It was held at the worst place EVER…Chuch E. Cheese.  Seriously just seeing that place gives me a headache.   Being the loving Auntie I am though, I drug the cousins and I into hell and was at Bubby’s party in full force.  He had such a great time and it was so fun watching him explore and enjoy everything around him.  He was particularly thrilled by the merry-go-round/carousel…he rode it 6 times in a row just with me!  That Bubby…I’m telling you.

Anyway, he ♥’s Elmo severe and I ♥ him severe so I knew I wanted to get him some sort of Elmo something or other.  The problem is he has a ton of various Elmo dolls…they talk, they sing, they vibrate, they lay silent and motionless (those are my favorite ones) and he didn’t need any more Elmo dolls.  Another issue I had was finances…there just isn’t enough money these days.  Alas what was an Auntie to do…craft of course.  I made my sister a brag book for her birthday and her son adores it so I thought hmmmm I’ll just make him an Elmo book.  It was going to just be a bunch of random pictures of Elmo but then I found this one on the net:

Doesn’t it just BEG for some writing in the white box?  Being a graphic designer by trade, I thought “oh wow you should make him an Elmo story.”  And so I tried to channel my inner Elmo so I could write a story my nephew would love. Ultimately I had to solicit the help from my children.  This is the story we came up with:

Hello Nathan!!!  A little birdie told Elmo it is your birthday.  Elmo really likes birthdays.  Elmo likes birthdays a lot.  You get to eat lots of cake and ice cream.  Elmo loves ice cream.  Do you like ice cream too?  You also get to open lots of presents.  Elmo loves to open presents.  Another thing Elmo really likes about birthdays is candles.  Elmo likes blowing candles out.  When Elmo goes to parties he likes to wear party hats.  Nathan do you like to wear party hats too?  Nathan, Elmo has a secret.  Elmo likes it when Cookie Monster has a birthday.  He always has good cookies and cookies are very yummy in Elmo’s tummy.  Elmo likes to sing and dance at parties too.  Nathan, Dorothy told Elmo you sing and dance to your worship music and Undo It.  Elmo says, “Good Job Bubby!”  Elmo has a song for you Nathan.  Happy birthday to you.  Happy Birthday dear Nathan…”  Ya, ya happy birthday Dear NATHAN that’s right!  Elmo also likes to see family and play with friends like his Dorothy and Zoe.  Elmo thinks Nathan has lots of family and friends who love him.  Just watch out for Oscar.  He can spoil all the fun because he’s a grouch.  Auntie told Elmo you watch the movie Elmo in Grouchland all the time.  That makes Elmo  very very happy.  Did you know that Grouches don’t like birthdays?  That makes Elmo sad.  But what makes Elmo really happy, even more than cake and ice cream and new toys is hearing about little boys who love Elmo like you!  Elmo Loves you Nathan!

Each of my children had a part of making the final story.  It was a collaborative effort that Mr. Nathan liked so well he had the story read to him twice in less than two hours!  That makes this Auntie’s heart S O A R!!!  Here is a picture of the unfinished cover…I ran out of time today but need to add the words “Nathan’s Elmo Book” or something like that to the cover.

 

Front Cover - partially complete

Here’s a close up of the binding.  I’ll be adding beads later too.

And finally, here is a picture of two of the interior pages (they are all the same):

Inside page sample

 

The final page of the book tells him when he got it and who it’s from:

And now the part you all are dying to know…how I did it?  Well, I used some heavyweight chipboard measuring 4 x 6.  The interior pages were created in PhotoShop and printed on brochure paper which has a little gloss to it.  I used a red piece of paper for the front covers, the Elmo heads on the cover are from a cut on the Elmo’s Party (something like that) cartridge, and then tied the words and ribbon to the binding wire.  Oh yeah…I ran all the pages through my Xyron before adhering to the chipboard pages.  I’ll post updated pictures when I get the front cover blinged out the rest of the way.

And now…enjoy him receiving the book with his Mommy.

 

Leave a Reply

