Geared 4 Success

Being a graphic designer allows me to put my Cricut machine to maximum use.  I just love SCAL and used it to create the card featured in this post.  However, after reading about some of the features of Make The Cut, I would recommend people buy it instead.  It will still allow you to do the same thing.  I was having a conversation with the Queen of Enabling (not you…yes YOU), and I sent her umpteen texts of all this ugly paper I have.  She doesn’t think it’s ugly…more “vintage” I guess.  Anyway so I deemed yesterday my “use some ugly paper” day and came up with this.

I made the sentiment in Photo Shop.  This was the first of 2 fortunate mistakes in this project.  I just printed it on some regular ole cheapie cardstock paper and when I sprayed it with my DIY gold Glimmer Mist (I may start thinking up more creative names for all my colors) the ink ran.  It turned out being even better than I had hoped.  I just detailed over the image with a brown pen to help define it more.  The fonts I used are called Rumpelstiltskin and I believe Forte for the 4 but I don’t remember now.   The background paper I sprayed with my gold DIY Glimmer Mist.   The gears were cut from SCAL and made from some Photo Shop brushes (kind of like a stamp) I have of gears.  I cut them in chipboard first and then covered them with DCWV textured black cardstock.  Next came glossy accents and lots of them.  Insert second fortunate mistake here…

Do you see how the top right of the huge gear/cog looks like it is corroded a bit.  I heat set my glossy accents (patience is NOT a strength I have) and it bubbled and went all wacky…I peeled most of it off and did it again but I just loved how that spot looked almost weathered or corroded so I kept it.  Here is a close up of it:

I honestly have no idea what I will use this card for, but I really like it.  I hope you do too.

Supplies Needed:
1 sheet 12 x 12 Core’dinations Gemstone Black (it’s probably called Onyx) cut at whatever size you want…here I think it’s 5.25 by 5 or something close to that
Accent/background piece cut .25 inch smaller than card base dimension (I used a sheet from the K&Company Urban Stack)
Gears SCAL file (please let me know if you’d like it)
DCWV textured black cardstock cut at 6 x 6 (open stock paper from Jo-Ann’s)
Chipboard sheet cut at 6 x 6
Cricut
Computer or Laptop
Glossy Accents
Sentiment of choice
Brads and Eyelets if desired
DIY Glimmer Mist if desired
4 thoughts on “Geared 4 Success

  1. lol it is vintage not ugly…lmbo I love how your “oops” turned out! I need to take the time to learn photoshop and SCAL and maybe even MTC one day!
    TFS! This is an awesome card!

  2. Have you tried Fairy Cut software (the newest in the SCAL, MTC, Fairy Cut line-up)? I know, me neither! I’ve used both SCAL and MTC before and just tried Fairy Cut for the first time a week or so ago. Love it! Go to http://www.fairycut.com for a free demo. Easiest of all to use and incorporate your graphic elements, IMHO.

Leave a Reply

