Martha’s Floral Verve and an announcment

I’m sure I’m the ONLY scrapper/card maker around that does this, but often I LOOK for opportunities to make things.  I went Visiting Teaching today with my companion and figured I could do something MUCH prettier for the monthly message than to just hand the sisters I visit a printed piece of paper.  Besides…it gave me justification for playing with some new toys.  So…here’s what I came up with:

The “Your Visiting Teaching Message” was added with the computer…man I wish I had a stamp that said that.  Oh wait guess what…I soon WILL!  Being a graphic designer and all I have decided to design my own LDS themed stamps.  I’m even working with a major stamp maker to see about getting them mass-produced so that YOU all can have a set too (if you want one that is)!  I’ll have more details on that later though.

Supplies Needed:
1 sheet of cardstock for card base (cut at 5 x 9.5…I used “ugly/vintage” paper form K & Company)
Adhesive (I used ATG)
Punch (I used Martha Stewart’s Punch Around The Page but I forget its name)
Coordinating/Contrasting paper for Lovely Floral cuts
Bone Folder
Lovely Floral Lite Cartridge
Cricut
Stamps (Blessings from Verve)
Ink (Versamark Black)

Score your 5 x 9.5 cardstock at 4.5 and 9.  Then, using the edge punch of your choice, punch your top edge all the way across.  Trim the punched edge  off the by cutting on the 9 inch score line down the length of the punch, then cut on the 5 inch side at the bottom of the punched piece.  This allows you to make the pocket without any “extra” punched piece showing through.  On the 9 inch score fold it toward the left so it will make a flap and then fold the card in half along the 4.5 inch score line.  Apply adhesive of your choice to “flap” and bottom and secure.  I used a bone folder over the bottom and side just for added measure.

I used the doily cut at 3.5 inches.  First in pink (no shift) then in blue (shift) to make a pendant/medallion for my stamped sentiment.  It says “may your blessings outnumber the shamrocks that grow”  (it is still March right?!?!?) and comes from the Blessings set by Verve.  It would have been faster to use Spellbinders Dies for the medallion/pendant, but since none exist exactly like this, I had to use my Cricut.  See…this is EXACTLY why I’m glad I have BOTH!

In my faith, we refer to the adults as brother and sister so and so (last name).  Sister C loved my little “gift” with this month’s message in it!  I think I may “present” the monthly message all cutsie like from now on!

2 thoughts on “Martha’s Floral Verve and an announcment

Leave a Reply

