Happy Tartan Day!

Top of the morning to you…wait that might be the wrong island…but welcome anyway!  If you’ve arrived here from Beckie’s site, then you are right on track.  This is a hop with a twist!  Along the hop there  are  letters to find in the postings – not all blogs have the letters, but if you gather all the letters, then assemble them, they will reveal a Scottish themed word and then you return to Gill’s  blog and enter the Mr Linky at the bottom of the post (do not reveal the secret  word yet).   After the hop she will contact someone at random and ask them to email her with the word – if correct they win some lovely candy.

When asked to be a part of this hop, I honestly had no idea who/what a Tartan was.  So, I did what I always do when I don’t know something…I “Googled” it of course.  What I found was very interesting.  According to the Scottish Tartan authority, “Tartan is a unique art form and conventionally a textile design comprising woven bands or stripes of various colours and widths, the design sequence being the same in both directions of the fabric – with some exceptions – and normally producing a square pattern which is generally – but not necessarily – symmetrical about defined pivot points or stripes.  This arrangement creates a recognisable pattern or ‘sett’ which is repeated across the width (weft) and length (warp) of the material. Where bands of differing colours cross, intermediate hues are formed and the pattern can be modified by the addition of finer lines of the same or contrasting colours.”  Interesting huh…I had no idea.  I also “Googled” (I think Yahoo is my default search engine actually) Scottish Tartan Day and learned from Wiki that “Tartan Day is a celebration of Scottish heritage on April 6, the date on which the Declaration of Arbroath was signed in 1320. A one-off event was held in New York City in 1982, but the current format originated in Canada in the mid 1980s. It spread to other communities of the Scottish diaspora in the 1990s. In Australasia the similar International Tartan Day is held on July 1, the anniversary of the repeal of the 1747 Act of Proscription that banned the wearing of tartan.  Tartan Days typically have parades of pipe bands, Highland dancing and other Scottish-themed events.”  Ok…so now that I had a better idea for what Tartan is or was, I was ready to create.  There was just one problem…my “Tartan” collection of scrappy stuff was well…extinct.  Thankfully I found a pdf document with some Tartan paper and came up with a last-minute project.  Man I sure love that last-minute sometimes.

I was lucky enough to even find a Scottish Blessing which I turned into a “sentiment” for my project.  The blessing is this (just in case you can’t read it in the image):

If there is righteousness in the heart,
there will be beauty in the character.
If there is beauty in the character,
there will be harmony in the home.
If there is harmony in the home,
there will be order in the nation.
If there is order in the nation,
there will be peace in the world.
So let it be.

Peace in the world…so let it be!  From my fingers to God’s ears (is that even possible).

Supplies Needed:
Card Base
Solid Mat (1/8 of an inch smaller than card base)
Tartan background paper (click here for the file I used for my paper)
Spellbinders Lacey Squares
Pop Dots
Ribbon
Computer
Bling

First I printed out the Scottish Blessing then cut it out using the largest Lacey Square die I have.  My card base is A2 so I cut the yellow at 4 1/8 by 5 3/8 and then cut the tartan paper at 4 by 5 1/4.  I adhered my bow to the very bottom of the tartan lined piece then adhered that to the card base and added the Lacey Square Blessing to the front.  Quick and easy, but I’m still loving it.  Now…you’re next stop along the way is Jill!  She might have a letter so be sure to check her out.  In case you get lost along the way, or to enter your Mr. Linky, please be sure to visit Gill’s site.

Leave a comment on this post and I’ll let my good friend Randy (random.org) pick a winner tomorrow…what do you win?  The card featured in this hop!  Happy Tartan Day folks!

17 thoughts on “Happy Tartan Day!

  1. Wow that’s fantastic. I love the fact that you took the time to do some research as that’s much appreciated and for you to share it with us too. I did that also. I’ve not heard of the blessing and I’m a 40 year old Scottish lass!! I will need to google that one! Thanks for taking part, enjoy the hop but now you probably need to get some sleep!!

  2. Wow! Love both of your projects! that Scottish blessing is fabulous – keeping a copy 🙂 Thanks for sharing that sweet story about your lovely daughter – reminds me of myself when i was young. Thanks for sharing all of the info on tartan and Tartan Days – i was going to look that up after the hop but now i don’t have to – sweet of you to share 🙂

  3. I love your card and mostly enjoyed reading the personal story you shared. It actually brought tears to my eyes. You sound like a wonderful parent!
    Glad to follow you now!
    Feel free to follow back!
    Happy blogging.
    Jessica

  4. I really like both of your projects and I think the card is wonderful! I love the blessing… very nice touch. TFS!

    Anne
    anniebeescraftroom.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

