Tartan Two

Oy ve today’s gonna be a LONG day.  My nephew will be here in 2.5 hours and I’m still…to quote Angelica’s daughter “waked up”.  Hate it when this happens.  At any rate, after realizing that my jammie pants I just cut into shorts were tartan, I decided to create a second project.  For details on this hop, please click here or scroll down to the post below.  This is my second project for the hop.

I like this 10 times better than the first project and will be giving this to my youngest daughter.  Blue is her favorite color and she’s really been struggling lately so I made this for her thinking it will reminder to be who she is…see, of the 4 kiddos I have…she’s usually the best behaved.  We had a heart-2-heart today and she shared how frustrated she is that her siblings refuse to follow her good example and she has to either get mad or cry so she chose to cry (awwww).  After validating her feelings, I reminded her that she could always choose to be grateful her siblings give her so many opportunities to serve because “in as much as ye have done it unto the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”  Later she thanked me for our conversation and seemed to be in much better spirits.

Supplies Needed:
Canvas (mine is 5 x 5)
Tartan fabric (mine is the leftovers from my pj pants)
Staple Gun and Staples
Ribbon
Spellbinders Beaded Ovals
Spellbinders Classic Ovals Small (I think that’s what they are)
6 pop dots (the thicker the better)
Nail file (or sanding block for distressing)
Two scraps of paper that coordinate with your Tartan fabric
Verve stamps (Superstar)
Ink (I used Versacolor)

 

Using your staple gun, cover your canvas with your fabric.  Cut a beaded oval (largest die) and a small oval to fit inside it (I forget which one it is).  Stamp your sentiment on your oval, adhere to beaded oval.  Sand your “beads” in the beaded oval for some dimension if desired.  Take 2 pop dots and put them on each end of the oval…stack three high and adhere to canvas.  Tie ribbon of your choice to the bottom and staple some to the top of the canvas to make a hanger for the canvas.  Eazy peazy lemon squeazy!

14 thoughts on “Tartan Two

  1. What a lovely creation. The verse is very appropriate and I hope your daughter gets a lot of peace out of it. Also, can I just say what a lucky woman you are to have a daughter who cares so much about you, and your other children and the way they behave etc. most children I imagine don’t care what their brothers/sisters do. You’re very lucky.

    Keep up the good work.
    Lisa xxx

Leave a Reply

