Butterfly Beauty

I’m so excited about my Royal Purple Freedom Hop (see the left side-bar for details) that I’ve decided to make 1 card in honor of each of the 24 families we will hand recovery to when I successfully give 1k to the Bradley Angle House.  The card I’m featuring today may very well be my all time favorite project ever.  It was inspired by my oldest daughter’s favorite colors and will be donated to the Bradley Angle House.  I hope that the woman who receives it will enjoy having it as much as I did creating it for her.

I submitted this card for consideration at Craftwell’s website.  I’m nervous because it’s the first time I’ve ever submitted any of my work to anything other than my blog.  If they like it, they will feature it on their website…wouldn’t that be something?!?!?  I’m so nervous…wait I already said that didn’t I?  I get told a lot that I should start selling my stuff and that I do some incredible work but I’ve never been brave enough to submit it anywhere.  First time for everything though and I’ve found the best way to face fear is HEAD ON.  I’ll let you know if Craftwell liked my project when they decide, but let’s get to how I created this work of art.

Supplies Needed:
eCraft machine
Swirls and Flourishes SD Card
Fundamentals 2 SD Card
A2 card base (here it’s Core’dinations)
1 4 x 5.25 mat (here it’s DCWV from the Pocket Full of Posies stack)
1 3.75 x 5 mat (here it’s Core’dinations)
Scrap papers for your cuts…the largest image is 4 inches
Verve Stamps (Beautiful You set)
Versafine Ink in Imperial Purple
Flat backed pearls 
Diamond Stickles
Tulip puff paint in purple (I added pearl paint to it to make it shimmer)
Lace
Adhesive (I used Elmer’s Fabric and Craft glue and ATG)
Pop Dots
Glue Dots
 

Run your 3.75 x 5 mat through your embossing machine. I used a Cuttlebug with the Floral Fantasy folder.  Use whatever machine you have on hand with the folder of your choice.  Then adhere this piece to your 4 x 5.25 mat, add your lace or ribbon to the bottom, adhere to card base and set aside.   Next you want to get out your eCraft (if you don’t have one you REALLY should get one…it’s fabulous) and Swirls and Flourishes SD Card so you can cut the Swirl Frame 1 Background at 3.5 inches. and the Swirl Frame 1 Cut- Out at 3.5 inches. Next you will want to take a scrap piece of paper and cut  a square to fit inside the Swirl Frame 1 Cut-Out cut (mine is about 1.75 by 2). Now switch to the Fundamentals 2 card and cut Butterfly 3 at 4 inches without the pen loaded. Cut  it twice in two different colors ( I used black and lavender I think). You also need to cut Fundamentals 2 Butterfly 3 Onlay 1 and 2 at 4 inches.   Next you want to stamp your sentiment on your scrap paper square, adhere sentiment to back of Frame 1 Cut-Out and then to Frame 1 Background and embellish as desired.  To get the butterfly result I did, you will want to cut off antennas on 2nd Butterfly 3 cut and cut the body off of the Butterfly 3 Onlay 1 cut. Glue onlay to Butterfly 3 cut. and glue Butterfly 3 Only 2 to Butterfly 3 cut. This is the tricky part…I actually made a score line to make it a little easier.  You’re going to want to glue just the body of your Butterfly 3 to 1st Butterfly 3 cut, add Stickles if desired and fold the wings up when dry to add a little dimension. After this is done, you can adhere frame with sentiment and butterfly to your card as desired. I used Pop Dots for the framed sentiment and glue dots for the butterfly. Finally, as an added touch, I used puff paint to add some faux pearls to the corners.  Let dry and there you have it!

Don’t forget, you can be entered to win a prize basket with 4 Cricut Cartridges and hundreds of dollars in scrappy stuff by sending a purple themed card to the address shown in the left side-bar.  Be sure to have your card postmarked by June 30th and receive extra basket entries for each $1 donation you include with your card!  Together we can give 24 families a chance at recover from Domestic Violence.

5 thoughts on “Butterfly Beauty

Leave a Reply

