Royal Purple Freedom Blog Hop

Did you know that Domestic Violence touches the lives of one in 3 women in their lifetime?  I have, at the moment, 97 women subscribed to this blog…98 including me.  This means that more than 30 of my subscribers will be touched by Domestic Violence in their lifetimes.  I was one of them, many of my hop participants were too.  Domestic Violence kills more women annually than breast cancer, but there are no DV walks for a cure and you typically only hear about the women who this condition steals…you seldom hear about those who got out and are making it and let me just tell you this…getting out is hell.  I know because I did it.  I used to walk in fear and now I go by faith!

My children and I celebrate our independence every year.  Yesterday was the 3rd anniversary of our divorce and our 4th year violence free.  Following the inspiration I received to celebrate BIG this year, I decided to host this hop.  Featured along the way are purple themed cards…it’s my favorite color and the color for the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence.  Each card will be donated to the Bradley Angle House in hopes of inspiring women who have finally found the courage to leave.  When I left…there was precious little to hope in.  With this hop, we will give hope to women where perhaps little now exists.  With your help and support, together we can raise $1k for the Bradley Angle House and hand 24 NEW families a chance at recovery.  Everyone deserves to be safe and happy don’t you think?

My personal goal is to create 24 cards in honor of the 24 families we WILL help when we meet the goal.  Here are just a few of my projects so far:

For these cards I used Spellbinders, beaded ribbon, regular ribbon, a ribbon sticker I got a LSS, and Verve and Kristal Andrew stamp sets.  I also used my all time favorite stamping ink (versafine), and some flowers and bling.  Inside I will hand write a special message to a woman in hopes it will give her something to hope in and she will be able to stay encouraged along her journey.

The two cards above feature more Spellbinders, eCraft’s Waterlife SD image (the anchor), Our Daily Bread Designs stamps, Verve stamps, Stampin’ Up edge punch and twine.  I even tried my hand at stitching…that hand needs more practice.

Finally there’s this one that has a bow tied on my hideously ugly bow board, Spellbinders, Our Daily Bread Designs stamps, and Tim Holtz stain or wash or whatever it’s called.  I have 16 more to go I think.

Your next stop along the hop is the amazingly talented and charming Raven Baca at Love 4 Stamps.  The women featured in this hop have so graciously blessed my life and will bless the lives of others with their generous contributions to this hop. Though only one A2 card was required, many of the participants made a dozen or more.  Thank you ladies, I appreciate each of you!   And to Kristal and Amy who rounded out the lineup at the last possible minute…HUGE applause, hugs and love!!!!   Kristal, I appreciate the influence you are in my life and the example you set to everyone around you.  Your charitable donations with your new stamp sets are amazing.  And now…to think you’ll include a DV related charity too…WOW!  Now onto the line-up:

 

What fun would a hop be without some blog candy to reward you for your time and effort in viewing each stop right?  Because this cause is so dear to me, I have arranged an incredible array of prizes.  First though, lemme share some more information with you.   About 4.8 million intimate partner-related physical assaults and rapes occur every year while many more assaults and rapes go unreported entirely. Over 3 million children witness violence in their home each year and those that do suffer physically and emotionally (my kids are among this statistic).  These statistics are sad and overwhelming, but help IS out there for those that choose to break the silence, but they need help.  Places like the Bradley Angle House are often invaluable.

Sponsors for this hop have been very generous and we have several Grand Prizes!  To be eligible to win, you must create a purple themed card like the ones featured in this hop and include a hand-written note of encouragement on the inside.  Your purple themed card(s) with a hope filled message inside could make all the difference, not to mention give YOU a chance to win the grand prize for this hop.  Cards must be postmarked by June 30th for inclusion in basket drawings and can be mailed to the following address:

Royal Purple Hop
c/o Vicki Smith
P.O. Box 1496
Millbrook, NY 12545

What are these grand prizes you ask...brace yourselves because you will not believe your eyes!

The Big Deal Basket:  Prizes in this basket are far too plentiful to list individually.  We have items donated by Robert’s Crafts (including 4 Cricut Cartridges), My Creative Time, Kristal Andrew, Erin Lee Creative, Pink By Design, Verve, KaDoodle Bug Designs, Photocentric, Peachy Keen Stamps. Treasure Box Designs,  Our Daily Bread Designs, Kallio Kalleidoscapes, September Ninth and many more items donated by our hop participants.  I estimate the value of this basket to be well over $250.  One lucky winner will be shipped this basket full of goodies (entire contents not shown):

Because Life After Domestic Violence is Peachy Keen Prize:    This prize package includes 1 each of the following stamps:  PK-M16, PK-M20 PK 291, PK-287, PK-288,  PK-289.  You can visit the Peach Keen Store  to check out all the images, but included in this prize package are the following new releases:

Pampered Princess:  This prize package includes a vanilla scented candle, some Secret Garden shower gel from Victoria Secret, and a Michael Buble CD.  Often times when leaving a Domestic Violence situation women forget to take care of themselves…I suspect this is a condition women have in general and the winner of this prize package will have good reason to pamper herself like the princess she is!

Verv-a-licious:  Verve stamps are my all time favorite clear polymer stamp ever.  The winner of this prize will receive a $25 gift certificate to spend at http://shopverve.com.

Please Note:  Only people who send a card to the above address will be entered into the drawing for these prizes.  Again, purple as the primary color with a hand written note inside.   Want more chances to win the grand prize?  Additional entries will be given for each $1 donation you include with your card.  Would you prefer 1 entry, 10 entries, or is 100 entries more of what you had in mind?  It’s all up to you!  

Smaller  prizes include: The Bling Thing (an assortment of bling), I’m Turning Pail (a clear pail of Colorbok scrappy stuff, including chipboard albums), Just A Little Peach (more Peachy Keen Stamps),  Grab Your Cutters (a craft grab bag from Cutter’s Creek), and perhaps even more as Sponsor items are still trickling in.  To be eligible to win any of these smaller items, simply leave a comment on this post telling me if DV has made an impact on your family and who’s card you were most inspired by.

Remember, one in three women will be affected by DV in their lifetime…think of your 10 closest friends…which three of you will suffer this tragic experience?  While it was me, I pray it is never any more of you.  I hope you will help me give 24 deserving women and their families a chance at recovery.  Everyone deserves to be safe!  Even if you choose not to make a purple themed card, you can still send a donation to the address above.  Thank you in advance for your support!

64 thoughts on “Royal Purple Freedom Blog Hop

    • Thank you Gaby…thank you for such an elegant and incredible project for this hop. I don’t know about being brave by my Dad says when paid a compliment I’m to smile and just say thank you so 🙂 thank you.

  1. hi i have been a victim too, but it was when i was little. i am so glad that you are doing this. have donated money and a card i hope you reach your goal and god bless you .

  2. Thanks Faith for letting me be a part of this hop. It is an honor to be hopping and creating for this great cause. Hopefully the goal will be reached and go beyond our expectations. I am praying it does. Your cards are great as always. Linda

  3. Blessings to you, Faith, for calling attention to the issue of Domestic VIolence through this fabulous hop. It is my honor to participate. Like many of my “sisters” here, I too have endured and survived an abusive marriage throughout most of the 17 years I was in my first marriage. I called on God-given strength to leave, and it was not easy by any stretch of the imagination. Only my faith got me through; I was also lucky to have the amazing support of a few (and surprisingly, only a few) family and friends.

    Keep the FAITH!

    Ellen ♥ CardMonkey

  4. Beautiful cards!! I can’t thank you enough for bringing this cause to attention!! I have made my card, i just need to mail it out!!

  5. Happy Anniversary!! I’m gald that you found the strength to leave. I also left a violent relationship, one of my husband’s friends was not so lucky~she was murdered by her live-in boyfriend.
    Thanks for making a difference!!
    Hugs!!
    Silvia

  6. Fabulous creations for a fabulous cause! Although I usually make cards for Operation Write Home, I will gladly take some time to create some for this organization. My ex also tormented me with DV for 13 years, so I can relate to this problem. He make over $100,000 yearly, so don’t think that it only happens to the lower income people. I’m totally disabled due to his abuse, but both my kids & I are free of him! Thanks so much for bringing this issue up with this blog hop!

    • Lee I think it is VERY important to mention that this is a condition that affects any income bracket, ethnic background, and age. Thank you for pointing this out. I am so sorry to read about your permanent disability but as you said…at least you are FREE from it now. I never knew how much I valued safety till I became safe! God bless you my friend!

  7. I want to thank you for organizing this blog and allowing me the privilege to participate in it. This is a topic near and dear to me and everyone has the right to feel safe and worthwhile. I have sent my cards in and will try to do more. Congratulations on your Independence Day!

    Happy Scrappin’
    suenj99 at yahoo dot com
    Sue B

    http://susanascorner.blogspot.com/

  8. Faith you already know it but I am so honored to be in this hop. I am so proud of you for having a voice and using it in a positive manner.

    BIG HUGS,
    Raven

    • I also forgot to mention yes I was affected by dv as a child and watched a very close family member survive as an adult. 😦 Also, I LOVED all of the cards in the hop. Such talent. 🙂

  9. My friend I am so glad to be a part of this hop! I loved your cards! Absolutely beautiful! I have also left a bad relationship and it was the BEST thing I ever had done!!! Hugs to you! 🙂

  10. Beautiful cards and for a great cause…I am so proud of you and how you brought this awareness out in the open…I know this is hard and brings back some memories but also of Hope for a better tomorrow…love you my dear friend! TFS! 🙂

  11. I absolutely LOVE all of your cards!!!!!!!They will mean so much to so many people.I cannot believe all the work and all the sacrificing you have done for this hop.I know it has been hard but you have been such a positive influence in so many lives.This is such a fantastic success.I am sending my cards, my donation and your “package”.–Haha–God will truly bess you for being so kind and caring.
    Anita

  12. Thank you for doing this blog hop for this cause. I agree with you that there isn’t much to show for Domestic Violence like there is for other causes out there. We don’t ever hear about this till someone is in the relationship way too long and ends up with a sad ending. I celebrate my life after Domestic Violence, just as you have. I was lucky enough to find a way out with nothing but the clothes on our backs and ended up in a house probably similiar to the one that you’re helping out. That was 28 years ago, it made me a stronger woman. I did finally find the man of my dreams and have been happily married for 18 years but that took awhile to find and to trust again. You will see my card for your hop in the mail shortly. Thank you for doing this.
    Tina C.

  13. Wow! What a great cause! Yes, as i think of 10 of my friends I know two. I know a few others as well. DV is a serious problem, and I’m sorry you went through this. I talk to my daughters all the time about people like this in the world and to be careful and never ever stay in that situation.

    New Follower!
    Take care,
    Lori

  14. Faith, your cards are absolutely beautiful! I love the fact that you were able to get out and all of you are sae and now celebrating! I can’t believe how big this hop has become with participants and donations. I am so proud to be a part of this amazing cause. Thank you for the invitation.

  15. Faith this is a great hop and for a great cause. Thanks so much for offering this quiet problem out in the open. I am sure there are plenty of women out there suffering that don’t need to be. It would be great if they could all be taken care of with their children. Hugs, Dee:)

  16. Mom…you’re doing a good thing with ur choice of the themed hop…i know it took me a long time to recover from our situation…I still am getting over it a little I love u and ur such a talented crafter

  17. I have to thank you for this. I just got out of this situation 9 months ago. . My boys do sufffer from this everyday
    Trish
    krazykcrafters at msn dot com

  18. i finished the hop and am waiting to see if i win anything just kidding if i win i win i just wanted to help with a good cause . i really love this thank you so much for hosting it. the ladies are certainly talented thx again

  19. What a beautiful cause, I will be happy to participate and honored to be part of such a wonderful choosen cause. I actually get emotional looking at all the replies and how many people have fought so hard to break free and then to have to rely on faith to stay free! Heartbreaking.

    I see the address where I can send the card or two that I will make but how do we donate a dollar with each card and do we upload our cards here, to our blog?

    You are a beautiful person

  20. Faith–your cards are stunning. Their beauty will inspire and encourage the women. I am sure they will be told the story of how the cards came to be and they will know kindness where they may have not had any in a long time. Thank you for including me. All contributions can be counted as a success.

  21. Faith you are such an inspiration to all those who are still struggling in DV situations. I am honoured to be part of this hop with you and the others in the line up. It is always a subject that is overlooked, dismissed or pushed under the carpet until it affects you or someone you know. It is such a truly amazing thing that you have done and I believe I am the only one from over the water, but i am truly touched that you wanted to include me in this. I openly gave my donation for the cause and enjoyed making my cards to bring hope and inspiration to those affected.

    Your cards are amazing – such thought went into them – will you be showcasing the rest of them? I love how they have turned out with your new photo box. Thanks again for having me in the hop. x

  22. Faith, thanks so much for doing this. It’s crazy how many have been in abusive relationships…I was one of them as well. I now call it a past life. I am happily married to a wonderful man. I will make a card and send a donation. Thanks again…I do believe we have Angels here on earth and like I told Kristal Andrew, you are one too.
    God Bless!
    Dee

    • Thank you Dee…it’s really not about me though. God just used me is all…this has been on my mind and heart for a long time and I finally stopped ignoring the prompting. I hope that through this hop and the cards and donations countless women and children will be given the chance to recover from whatever circumstance that plagues them. I don’t consider myself an angel at all…just someone who finally listened to a still small voice is all.

  23. Faith, your personal story brought tears to my eyes, and reading the statistics and thinking about those living in fear has brought on more tears. I haven’t myself been touched by DV, but we have 2 ‘houses’ here in our city that house DV victims and their children. There are built and maintained solely on donations and each victim receives a furnished apartment and help to get started all over. When they leave, they get to take everything with them to their new home. So wonderful! This touches me because I was listening to the radio the morning the original victim called in asking for help because she was about to take her life. She thought this was her only way out. They (radio hosts) kept her on the phone and got her help. There was a huge outpouring of help and support that these radio hosts help to start the first “Becky’s House”, and they have since built a 2nd. They are in secret locations so that they feel safe. I am going to get started on some cards this weekend and will get them in the mail to you. Thanks again for sharing your story!!!

  24. To my beautiful sister…you are amazing in every way. Crafting, mothering and your overall ability to love. One thing he wasn’t able to take is your ability to love and be compassionate. You have turned a pile of garbage into something so beautiful. Love you!

  25. Faith all of your cards are just beautiful. I am so honored to be a part of this hop with such a meaningful purpose.

    Thank you for having me.
    Erin

  26. Beautiful cards! You are have been blessed with a wonderful gift and it’s so awesome to see you using that talent to bless women who are in place you’ve been. You are a wonderfully strong person! So honored to be in this hop with you!

  27. Your cards are simply stunning and awe inspiring!!! Thank you for allowing me to be a part of this hop, it has been such an honor and priviledge to be amongst all you beautiful women. 🙂

  28. Ok, now this is frickin awesome!!!! I wish I would have been aware of this blog so that I could have participated…. I am a child of DV and used to work with the National Coalition Against DV in my job. I am totally making purple cards tonight and would like to donate some funds, as well. Are you limited to 24 families? May you double that! Thanks for doing this blog hop…I hope it is an incredible success….I can’t wait to make my cards.

  29. I have not had to overcome domestic violence but have always been aware of it. I have three sisters. One of my sister’s was brutally gang raped by a boyfriend and his buddies. She was very strong and brave and was able, for the most part, to overcome the ordeal. She taught me how to be a strong, independent woman and showed me that I was worthy of love. She passed in 2008; she is deeply missed.

    Your story has touched my heart. I think about you a lot since then. I am glad you have and are overcoming your awful situation. May God Bless you and yours!

    I’ll pray for all the families!

    I was most inspired by Gaby’s card. It was simple and beautiful. Love the bling on the butterflies. Butterflies signifies freedom, for me.

  30. I too was touched by domestic voilence 31 years ago and went into hiding, as you know, WITH NOTHING! I had a one year old and thankfully a stranger let me stay with him. To this day I have nightmares, but the therapy of scrapbooking and making cards for soldiers has helped me. It was hard for me too, now I am blessed with a born again son and his entire family, God is so Good. I also met my now huband of 29 years thru the man who kept me hidden. My Lord and Savior is so good! What a lovely thing to do for these women, I will make some cards for our local womens shelter. I am ashamed that I didn’t think of it. Hugs Alesia

  31. Thank you.I am indirectly a victime of DV. My youngest daughter has a violent and abusive husband. There are two beautiful children involved also. It is horrible not hearing from her; I’m never sure if I will hear from her again. I just pray constantly. I am tremendously blessed to have a wonderful and gentle husband.
    All these cards are beautiful and purple is my favorite color. I will donate both a card and money.
    Thank you again for such a wonderful blog cause.
    Barb

  32. DV has (thankfully) not affected any of my close friends/family to my knowledge. However, I do often think about those who go through it.. An ex-boyfriend of mine was emotionally/verbally abusive at times and I’m so glad I got out of it when I did.

    I hope to send a card for this project soon.
    thanks for the chance to win.

    sweetlilscrapper.blogspot.com
    sweetlilscrapper at hotmail dot ca

  33. Oh i forgot to mention which card(s) inspired me the most.. They were all gorgeous, but i especially loved the front of Emily’s cards and the handwritten note in Brie’s!

    sweetlilscrapper.blogspot.com
    sweetlilscrapper at hotmail dot ca

  34. You know, Faith…You should change your last name to “Freedom!” You have achieved it by escaping that situation w/ your ex. BRAVA!! I will work on some cards for your cause! Thank you for sharing your story.

    FYI–cards–you want the standard A2 size? Any special requirements (like, no glitter, etc.)? Guessing you want envelopes included? Thanks!

    Jann

  35. You are so talented as well as courageous. You are an amazing example and thank you for your courage and perseverance. What a wonderful cause. Thank you for sharing!

  36. I finally made it through the entire hop. So many amazing creations. I hope we can meet the goal. I also hope we can put a smile on some lovely faces. Thank you for having me. Kimmarie

  37. Oh Faith You are Really An Angel for Bringing this Horrible DV Into the spotlite! There are more than we really know enduring this! I as well have been there! I can relate with you and the others! You have really Made my day By doing this Hop!! I am making some cards and donating money as well! My favorite card that Inspired me the most was Deborah’s from scrappingmamma’s. Thanks for an awesome hop and good luck on your Card Entry!

    Rexann♥

  38. What a nice basket of goodies and a very generous concern to get this message out to all. I have never or know anyone that has every been the victim of abuse, but hopefully this will help them out in so many ways. I sent my purple card out last week. I hope you all have a great weekend and thanks to Faith for coordinating such an event.

    Dee:)

  39. This is very late in getting to you, but I have completed 6 cards that will be mailed and postmarked today, the 30th! Please forgive me, I had a list of cards I was most inspired by and for the life of me I cannot find it! 😦 I will say, all of the ladies did a wonderful job and some of them had especially amazing sentiments. If I find that list, I’ll come back and tell you which one I liked the best. I hope I can still be counted in for the grand prize entry. I will be sending a small donation with my cards as well. Please contact me via email as I have a couple of questions for you.

    Thanks so much for doing this!

    XO ~ Amy Jo (follower)
    amyjrockstar at gmail dot com
    http://lv2scrapandfibrofacts.blogpsot.com

Leave a Reply

