“Whenever I hear the song of a bird

or look at the blue blue sky…I’m glad that I live in this beautiful world, Heavenly Father created for me.”  Awww yes, my all time favorite Primary song EVER!!!!  I have so very much to thank my Heavenly Father for because I know, that no matter how dark the nights might be, the SON is always on the horizon.  Knowing this has helped me hold on and in when I felt like I had nothing.  I’ve been in one of those dark spots with some recent events (what you had no idea….that means I still got the knack for fooling people when it comes to what’s REALLY going on with me) and a lot has happened this week to yank me right up out of that spot.  First there was a super fun shift at the fair…what’s not uplifting about handing something they want and hearing “that’s fan freaking stastic”.  Those Irish Sundaes are indeed that…MAYUN.  Digressing sorry.

So then Tuesday comes and I got woke up from my nap by a Spantastik friend and told to go check out my good friend Kristal’s blog because she had finally made her DT announcement and…if you’ve been reading my blog, then you know what happens next…she chose ME to join her DT.  I’m still shocked, surprised, and excited all at the same time.  It truly is an honor to know her and now I get to work with her to promote her products (cuz you’ve never seen a project or 25 with her stamps already right) too!  But there’s so much more to it than that…some people do good, some people are good and others still inspire people to do or be good.  Kristal is all of this and more.  I back her stamps and her as an individual for so many reasons…way too many to list here, but I will give you a few of them real quick.

1.  She is very committed to her Stamp Good Do Good campaign.  What’s this you ask…well visit the K Andrew Designs store to check it all out. Basically it’s this…for every stamp set purchased, Kristal donates $2 to charity…one for every set of stamps sold, then a matching one from her own finances.  It’s easy for me to back someone who is so committed to doing THIS much good.  Every time I use one of her stamps, I get a warm fuzzy inside thinking about the good I have helped make happen by supporting Kristal.

2.  Kristal’s also one of the most Godly women I’ve ever known.  I’ve learned so much about trusting in Him from reading her thoughts and statuses and notes and through our conversations on Facebook.  I’ve learned that when I grow up, I want to be as faithful as she is.  She is unashamed of her belief and will speak out boldly on how God is and isn’t working in her life.  She will pray for you, and she will pray with you.  She gives HIM full credit for all that she is and she works diligently to dig deep and give Him more when she gets a/the call.  I love Godly women…this one in particular.

So now it’s Thursday (well technically it’s actually early Friday morning that I’m typing this post), and I get some happy mail from Anna Fearer whose flower making class I’ll be taking soon, and well, despite the darkest of dark days, the Son has ALWAYS been right where I needed it most IF I chose to look.  On our mini-vacation we took Wednesday, I chose to look and found the pictures I used to create this, my first post of what I hope to be millions (ok maybe just thousands…or hundreds…anyway 1st of lotsuh) of Design Team posts:

These are two of the photos I took at a coastal spot I had never seen before.  It was beyond amazing…we will return to this spot over and over.  No…I won’t tell you exactly where this spot is…I want it to be my little secret…then I don’t have to fight for parking or picnic tables next time I go back LOL.

The beauty of these photos is remarkable and really speaks for itself so I decided to keep the page simple.  The lighthouse die cut is present because this is the view from the area near the lighthouse we visited.  The empty spot will be for journaling…lots of journaling bout the impressions I had while there.  I used the following stamp sets from K Andrew Designs:

Here's a close-up of how I stamped.
 
Additional Supplies Needed:
12 x 12 page for layout (DCWV Shimmer Stack)
2 4.25 x 6.25 mats in contrasting color
eCraft
Waterlife SD Card (lighthouse cut at 5, cliff cut at 8)
Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Old Paper
Inking tool (I use one from Ranger with foam ink pads instead of felt)
Crop-a-dile
Eyelets
Twine
Adhesive:  Mono Adhesive tape runner
Bling if desired
Spellbinders (I forget which one I used here)
My personal SVG file
 
 

Mount your 4 x 6 photos on your contrasting mats, adhere as desired to page.  Make the cuts with your eCraft (if you don’t have one…I know of a way you can be entered to win one…stay tuned) as I described.  I believe the journal box is 4.5 by 6.75 but I don’t remember exactly.  Using your crop-a-dile, punch two holes and set two eyelets.  Mine is just random brown ones from my stash.  Feed twine through the eyelets and tie it in a knot.   Taking the Spellbinder’s die of your choice, you can cut an accent/background piece like I did.  The white piece that my sentiments are stamped on is actually my very own SVG file so come back the 15th for your chance to win it!

So…I stamped my SVG cut on two edges with God Bless The USA from the Freedom Isn’t Free set, and then I stamped the other two edges with Simply fabulous from the Fashionable Friends Set.  Next I stamped two of my favorite sentiments from Positive Thoughts.  The one I stamped first was being a person of value is more important than being a person of success.  This really hit home for me with the experience I had at the lighthouse.  I was mad because I spent almost 30 years of my life without ever having seen the majestic beauty that IS this area all because my mother never go the meaning of value over success.  I’m so grateful my children are being taught to be people of value…and, if they happen to find success along the way (which I’m sure they will), more power to them.  Next I stamped live the life you want…this is a favorite of mine right now.  Finally I used Shine on!  from the Splashtastic Summer set then added some bling.  Once I get my journaling done, this page will be perfect.

Thanks for stopping in and checking me out today, I hope you enjoyed my first official DT project.  Be sure to go over to Kristal’s blog and let her know how I did…I’m sure she’d like that.  Don’t forget to visit the store too so you can get YOUR K Andrew Designs stamps.  I’d love to know which one is your favorite!

4 thoughts on ““Whenever I hear the song of a bird

  1. This is very beautiful. I also use a lot of Kristal’s stamps in my layouts and love that they can be so versatile in many of my projects. Thanks for sharing this layout. It looks like a very serene place.
    Hugs
    Brenda GCDTM

Leave a Reply

