Bring on the Son!

I was so happy and peaceful I just couldn’t sleep last night.  Well that and I woke up VERY late yesterday morning which meant for a long long day…finally I crawled into my bed at about 7:30 this morning.  Imagine my discontent when I hear my phone ringing at 10ish.  I wasn’t going to respond to it I wasn’t….I was perfectly content to be sleeping in my bed and the kids were not killing each other yet either.  I’m one of those people though that once I’m awake, I’m UP.  In short…I don’t go back to sleep very well ever.  Plus, it was getting late, I have homework due, and many other things.  Aight Aight, I’m up I’m up.

I thought my phone was in the living room…turns out it was arms length on my eCraft.  Just as I’m sitting up and grabbing it my little Ranga comes in and sits on the bed next to me.  I look at the number…it’s Michael’s (is it bad I know the store number by heart for SEVERAL stores lol).  I missed the call but don’t have the voicemail alert and I’m nervous waiting for it.  Finally my phone says “message received” and it’s popping up to tell me I have a new voicemail.  I say to Ranga “oh man that’s Michael’s and they left a message.”  She tells me she wants to hear it too so I call voicemail on speaker and hear this:

“Good Morning Faith this is Larry at Michael’s.  Listen I wanna on-board you I wanna bring you on the team so I need you to call me at the store.  You can either talk to me Larry or call Maria cuz you need to get the ball rolling here.  But if you’re still interested, I’m really interested in you.  You were my favorite of all the people I’ve interviewed over the last couple days.  So give me a call at the store and we’ll get ya started….”  It’s important to note that there was emphasis placed on the “really” in really interested in me, and on “favorite” and “all” in favorite of all people.

In case you were wondering, the God I serve is MIGHTY!  He has the power to pour out the windows of  heaven on whomever He chooses, and He has chosen me.  Even in the darkest hours, the darkest moments of the last few  years, I’ve never lost sight of this one fact.  God is in control, so I don’t have to be.  Getting this job has proven that to me.  It’s not just a job, it’s confirmation of so much bigger than that.  Allow me to explain…

I chose to trust God to keep me safe no matter what, I chose to remain faithful when many would have forsaken Him, I chose to remain faithful and hold on to hope, even when hope and faith were the only things I had to hold onto and even when the storm raged harder and stronger and longer.  And, as God would have it (cuz I don’t believe in luck), that’s all it took.  So for me…this job isn’t just a job.  It’s a promise, it’s a blessing, it’s the beginning of some very big things for my family.  It’s one more success, it’s one more confidence builder, it’s one more step forward away from all that had me held so captive.

It is one more reminder of the promise found in Helaman 5:12 in that “it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo”.  I’m so grateful for this entire scripture, it’s one I’ve held dear for many years.  It says “And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.”  Yes my friends, the storm has certainly been beating upon me, but thanks to my God, I have beaten the storm.

One thought on “Bring on the Son!

  1. Congratulations on your new job!!! Yes, you absolutely have the right name. You exemplify real FAITH. Enjoy your time at Michaels. Try not to spend your entire check there though….Hazard of the job, LOL…

Leave a Reply

