Getting Cricky Fall Treats Simple Sunday Challenge

Typically by this time of year our temperatures have dropped, the leaves are changing from greens to amazing shades of red and orange and yellow, and it’s about 10 or 20 degrees cooler.  I guess Mother Nature decided to extend our summer since it was so late in arriving because yesterday our temperatures were still in the 80’s.  Hard to think about fall with summer temps, but Fall treats is the theme of today’s Simple Sunday Challenge over at Getting Cricky.  Personally, I don’t ever do any fall treats…though I love the colors of fall, other than Thanksgiving, my family and I don’t really do much.  Halloween is my least favorite holiday and usually it’s just the kids and I for thanksgiving so there’s no real reason to do much more than cook a feast.

So…today’s Simple Sunday challenge was well…a challenge.  I decided hmmmm maybe I can make a fun fall treat for the woman I Visit Teach every month.  These women are new to me, as is my companion, and I thought it might be fun to take each of them a little treat.  Here’s what I came up with:

These Ghosty’s with the Mosty are so simple my children made about 25 of them while I did the stamping, bead stringing, die cutting and embellishing on the label.  I used the K Andrew Designs sets shown below:

Wanna make your own?  They are really easy, but you will need some supplies of course.

Supplies Needed
Tootsie Pops
White Fabric
Googly Eyes 
K Andrew Designs Winter Wishes
K Andrew Designs Fall-O-Ween
Ink (I used Versafine black here)
Scrap Paper (mine is from Core’dinations)
Spellbinders (I used a labels die but I forget the number)
Flowers, buttons, and bling (from my stash)
Black and Orange beads
 Fishing Line
Floral Wire
Clean and dry soup or vegetable can
Adhesive (ATG, glue dots)

Got your supplies?  Great now here’s what ya do:  first take your toostie pop and cover with enough fabric to cover the bottom of the stick.  Twist floral wire around the base of the sucker to secure the fabric (a white twist tie would work or if you tied the beads super tight that would work too).  String your black and orange beads on the fishing line and tie around the “neck” of the ghost.  Using glue dots, secure gooly eyes to your ghost’s “face”.  Next taking your empty can, cut a piece of scrap paper the height of your can.  Tape this to your can to decorate it.  Next, using the stamp combination shown from Winter Wishes and Fall-O-Ween.  Using your favorite manual die cutting machine (or cut a rectangle-ish shape from your favorite electronic machine) cut out a shape to fit your sentiment.  I used my Grand Calibur and a Spellbinders label’s die, but I’m not sure what number.  Anyway…

After your sentiment is dry (heat set if using something like Versafine), embellish your label to your liking and adhere to your decorated can.  Stand ghosts up in your can and voila!  Now…be sure you head over to the Getting Cricky Blog to see what all of my DT Sisters have for you!  Link up YOUR favorite Fall Treat and you can win a surprise Cricut Cartridge.  Here’s the details:

Grab Kristal’s blinkie from my sidebar or her sidebar and become a follower of hers.  Then, make any fall treat related project and link up via the inlinkz tool by October 9’th; you must put a link back to http://www.gettingcricky.com/ in your blog post.  Share the word!!! Have fun!!!  Kristal also said “if you have a chance, leave comments for my DT members and the other challenge participants. I’ll choose ONE person who comments on the most entries for a fabulous SURPRISE gift!’  Isn’t Kristal generous…WOW!!!!  To link up your Fall Treat, please click here.

15 thoughts on “Getting Cricky Fall Treats Simple Sunday Challenge

  1. Hi Faith … Very cute project today! I’ll do it!

    I was just wondering: have you ever announced the winner(s) of the grand prizes for the Hop for Domestic Violence that we were in? I’ve never gotten closure there — or more about the bracelets? Just wondering….
    (-:
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

