Where is Fall at ANYWAY

So last Sunday after posting my Simple Sunday project I got ready for church and headed out.  I was soooooooooooooo excited when I opened the door and Fall like temperatures and weather were waiting to greet me.  That excitement was short lived…it was 72 the next day and 80 the rest of the week.  Yesterday it was mid 70’s and today is supposed to get to the mid-eighties.   Am I complaining…no, not really.  There are a lot worse climates to live in than mine, but I do miss Fall.  It’s my second favorite season you know…the colors, the food, the feeling…Fall just feels good.  Not to mention it’s the one time a year when pretty much everyone starts taking a look at what they are thankful for…all of this was the motive behind the project I’m sharing with you today.  Allow me to present my first center step card:

There are so many “unusual” things about this card…unusual for me anyway.  I’m uncertain about if I like it or not but I’m posting it anyone (a few of you have said I should post more of what I make whether I like it or not…you know you are so this is just for you).  Ok…so let’s talk about what’s so unusual…first it’s the first time I’ve ever tried this technique of a fold before…I like that part at least.  Second it’s unusual because these are not colors I ever work with…not in this combination anyway.  I almost never use orange…in fact, except for some recent Halloween projects I’ve done I can’t remember ever using orange in a project.  Third, I don’t usually use patterned paper for anything more than a mat behind a solid sheet of paper.  Fourth (we are on 4th right), ummmm…I know there was a 4th unusual thing about this project, but I forget now.  Maybe it was that I don’t usually do any fall themed items, maybe it was that I don’t usually ever have this much contrast in a project, maybe it’s that I don’t usually make things just to make them (usually everything I make has an intended recipient), or maybe the 4th unusual thing about this card was I triple layered the leaf and stamped at an angle…maybe that’s a lot more than just 4 unusual things…

Supplies Needed:
1 5.5 by 11 sheet of cardstock for card base
Score board of some kind (I used my Martha Stewart one)
The instructions found here
A Maple Leaf Cut (I made my own using Photoshop and SCAL)
Lace Ribbon (Martha Stewart)
DIY Glimmer Mist to color the lace (green and gold used here)
Embossing Tool/Gun
Adhesive (Mono Tape Runner, Foam Dots, tape)
Ink (I used Chocolate Chip from Stampin’ Up)
Ribbon for a bow (from my stash)
Stamps (I used K Andrew Designs Fall-O-Ween)
Scrap paper to decorate your card base

Once you get the card base cut and scored, you are ready to decorate.  I created a layered maple leaf in SCAL and cut each layer a different color, lightly inked the edges with Chocolate Chip ink from Stampin’ Up, and pieced it together.  Then I stamped my sentiment from K Andrew Designs Fall-O-Ween stamp set (shown below) and set it aside.  Next I added the decorative layers.  The animal print paper is from the DCWV Lady Couture stack, the paper layers in the center are just from my stash.  I also used the Lady Couture paper under the lace but you can’t see it really well.  The printed paper was cut at 4.25 by 1.25 (cut two of these).  The center step base piece was cut at 4.25 by 2.25 and I added two or three more layers cutting them 1/8 of an inch smaller each time.  The strip under the lace is .75 by 5.25.  You may want different measurements, or you may find mine useful.  Either way, it’s up to you!

For the bow, I tied it using my hideously ugly peg bow board and taped it to the back of the center piece.  Man I love that bow board I’m telling you!  I may line the inside of the card to cover the tape from the bow and lace but I’m not sure yet.  The lace just didn’t look right white and so I broke out my DIY Green Glimmer Mist and got all inky.  I then added some DIY gold and dried the lace using my embossing tool/gun and I’m still not quite sure it looks right but….

I then added foam dots to the back of the maple leaf and adhered to the center piece and called it good.  I really like this card fold and will likely make more cards using it in the future.  Be sure to head over to K Andrew Designs and pick up YOUR Fall-O-Ween set then show me what you create with it!  This is the PERFECT set for Halloween, Fall, and NUMEROUS other things…here’s just a few mix and match ideas for ANY occasion “for you friend”, a little fun”, for a sweet little friend”, “blessings to you” (wedding maybe), etc.  If I had to describe Kristal’s stamps in ONE word, it’d totally be versatile!  Till next time friends!

13 thoughts on “Where is Fall at ANYWAY

  1. Just stopping by from Getting Cricky Featured Blogger Thursday. Your card is lovely. And even though I never thought I would be saying this….I hope the colder weather comes your way soon….LOL!
    :O)
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

