Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Happy World Card Making Day and welcome to the Breast Cancer Awareness Hop hosted by my friend Denise at Vintage Heartfelt Designs.  You should have arrived here from Kari’s blog (now being hosted at WordPress too YAY!), but if not, please visit Denise’s blog to start at the beginning.  Before I get to my project, let me tell you why I chose to be a part of this hop.

Cancer should be a four letter word.  Several of my very closest of girlfriends have survived this dreaded disease…against impossible odds.  Imagine for a minute being diagnosed with breast cancer at…19?!?!?  Life-changing doesn’t even begin to explain it…by the time this friend was 30, both breasts had cancer in them and doctors even found lung cancer (her breast cancer metastasized).  I was there for one of her treatments.  It was unpleasant to witness; I can only imagine the difficulty it must have been for my friend.  I love you my friend…I’m glad you have beaten this thing so many times!

Then there’s another friend…she lost her mom to breast cancer only to wind up with it herself later in life.  I believe one of the greatest things you can do for another person is to pray for them.  This friend has prayed for me for years and I am so much stronger for it.  I am pleased to report, she has been cancer free now for ten years this past August! YAY!!!

Then there’s the woman who changed my life.  I met her years ago and I only got to have her in my life for about a year or so before cancer took her away from me.  When she died, I pretty much lost an entire week of my life because I was so overcome with grief and sorrow.  I am thankful for the time I had her in my life though and will never forget the time we shared.  This woman taught me more about unconditional love, service, compassion, and finding the silver lining in every cloud than anyone ever has.  I think about her each and every day and miss her more than words can ever describe.  If I ever grow up, I want to be just like her.  She is my hero and I hope I can be even half as brave as she always was.  She loved me like a daughter, I loved her like a mother…I love and miss you Mom!

Then there’s been a speaker at Time Out For Women, and some Mary Kay National Sales Directors I know, and my friend’s grandmother, and, and, and…I hate cancer.  I need that t-shirt that says Cancer Sucks.

This is a hop I just KNEW I had to be a part of.  Originally I had intended to create a beautiful mini toilet paper roll album (man was it gonna be awesome) but I had some machine failure and got aggravated and gave up.

Here’s what I came up with instead:

This project was inspired by Michelle, aka Scrappin With My Bug who just did a video on a gift card holder using her Cricut.  I was pretty sure I could do basically the same thing on my eCraft…I was right.  Not too bad if I do say so myself right?!?!?!?  Here’s the inside:

You didn’t think I was REALLY going to let you see a bank card with the name and number on it now did you?!?!?!  I haven’t gotten a chance to buy a gift card to put in here, but I wanted to show you what it looks like with a card anyway.  How fun would it be to get a bunch of sponsor support and get gift cards fora  mani/pedi to donate to women struggling to beat this horrid disease?  Just a thought…

Supplies Needed:
My SVG file (sorry this is only for the blog candy winner)
Scrap Paper for decorating the gift card holder (from my stash)
K Andrew Designs Stamps (Positive Thoughts, Winter Wishes, Scripture Sayings)
Ribbon
Ink (Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Up)
Adhesive (Mono tape runner)
Manual Die Cutting Machine (used Cuttlebug)
Embossing Folder of your choice (no idea what I used)
 

Once you cut your file, you are ready to embellish.  I can’t tell you the measurements I used because I just eye balled it.  The pink on the flap where it says Today is  Your Day and the background mat came from a stack called Tiffany’s but I forget who makes it.  The rest is just random paper from my stash.  All I did was cut my card base, and the “topper” shown on the right, then embellish the inside and outside of the holder.  For my blog candy, I will be giving away the SVG I used to make this gift card holder.  You will need to have SCAL or MTC or something like it to use it.  If you don’t, I will cut one for you as a template and mail it.  When you leave a comment, please indicate which delivery method you would prefer.

Now…as for how to be eligible to win?  Just leave a comment on this post…it’s that easy.

Your next stop along the way is Haidee from Created 2 B Unique.  In case you get lost along the way, here’s the entire line-up:

20. Charity Donaldson http://scrapfaire.blogspot.com
21. VinDeeLoo (Denise Purdy-Lewis) http://vindeeloosthisnthat.blogspot.com
25 thoughts on “Breast Cancer Awareness Month

  1. Love this! I too have lost way to many to this disease and am sick of it! Thanks for taking part in this hop to spread awareness. Sure hope we get to see the toilet paper album sometime though! ;0) Blessings to you.

  2. Yes and double yes, attitude is definitely everything. My husbands attitude though his Cancer journey is fabulous and he is doing fabulous. Ladies out there who are going though this cancer journey be positive. Cancer touches so many lives. I hope you all create lots of awareness. I am already a follower.

  3. Hi Faith, I love your card, it is beautiful!! I am so sorry that the four letter word has touched you, and so many people around you. I just became a follower, and I can’t wait to come back, and check out your whole blog. Karen♥

    karens-kakes-krafts.blogspot.com

  4. Faith,
    You have taken many friend to heart and given and received great love.
    A nice card you have made today. I like the front cover most.
    (don;t enter me)

  5. Wow! What an amazing project! I love it! I’ve never seen anything like this being made for a blog hop before! And it’s such a lovely gift for anyone, especially if they have had such a horrid time with the big C.

    You’ve been such a good friend to everyone who’s been affected. You’re so kind.

    I’m a new follower. Well done for being part of such a worthy cause.

    Lisa x

  6. I love it! A good friend of mine lost her 13 yearold daughter to cancer in August. Hope always wore a stocking cap that said “Cancer Sucks”. The minister said that probably 100 times at Hope’s service.

    VinDeeLoo
    vndlewis at rocketmail dot com
    vindeeloosthisnthat.blogspot.com

  7. I so agree that attitude is always best! I have had my mother fight breast cancer and win and my sisters mother in law is now fighting it and loosing. It is all about positive attitude through it all no matter stage your in, it will always make a world of difference.
    Theresa
    tmdettloff@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

