Getting Cricky Simple Sunday Color Challenge

Usually we do a theme for the bi-weekly Simple Sunday Challenge over at Getting Cricky, but this time we deviated from the norm and decided to go with a color challenge instead.  This is the first color challenge I’ve actually participated in…GASP, I know…I know.  After this one though, you can bet I will do this again more often.

So, the challenge this time around was to use orange and black with at most…one other color.  I chose to use purple, orange and black.  Common colors you see together this time of year right?  Probably not like this though:

I just couldn’t force another Halloween/Fall project right now.  I was over Halloween before it began (it’s so NOT my thing), I don’t have many Fall moments that need scrapping, and if one more person tells me “Happy Fall Y’all”, I just might have to vomit.  Seriously.  Anyway, the stamp I used comes from this set:

Here’s what else you’ll need if you want to re-create this card, or one like it, on your own:

Supplies Needed: 
A2 Card Base
eCraft
Fundamentals 2 SD Card
Orange mat cut at 4 x 5.25
Ribbon
Scripture Sayings stamp set
Ink (Versafine)
Embossing folder of your choice
Manual die cutting machine (I used my Grand Calibur)
Flat-backed pearls
Adhesive (Tombow Mono Adhesive, Pop Dots and Elmer’s Fabric and Craft Glue)
 

Using your eCraft, cut Image 6 and 8 from the Butterflies category on the Fundamentals 2 Card at 4.5 inches.  I cut two of Image 6, one in orange and one in black.  I cut one of Image 8. then cut the body off of my orange butterfly and glued it to the front of the black Image 6 cut.  I then glued my Image 8 to the front of this piece making a thicker more durable butterfly.  I was careful to only glue the two bodies together so the black wing layer could lift a bit adding dimension.  While this piece was drying, I took a Cuttlebug folder and placed it over 3/4 of my orange mat and ran it through my Grand Calibur.  Mayunnnnnnn does that thing EVER give you a beautiful deep impression.  Anyway….next I added ribbon toward the bottom, stamped my sentiment, added some purple flat backed pearls and that was it.  Be sure to head over to Kristal’s blog to see the rest of the DT projects,  link up your own, and find out what awesome gift Kristal is giving away this time. I can’t wait to see what color you will choose to mix with orange and black for this challenge.  We love seeing what you come up with!

 
 
 
 
 
9 thoughts on “Getting Cricky Simple Sunday Color Challenge

  1. Faith, love your card. It’s so nice to see someone use black and orange without it being a Halloween theme. I also really like that stamp set. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Way to use these colors – outside of Halloween. Thanks so much for sharing! You used one of my favorite stamp sets too.
    Cheri
    djssundries.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

