6 Degrees of Sorry

Blog candy…I think I hate it.  Yep I said it.  Why you ask…well because I hate readers who only read blogs that offer it, I hate that we all expect it so much most people feel obligated to offer it and I especially hate that I’m so far behind in sending it out to my winners.  For the record…I will NOT be offering any more blog candy until I can get caught up on what I’ve already offered and haven’t gotten int he mail yet.  Anyway…in that spirit of things, I decided to include a card with all the blog candy prizes I’m mailing to express my sorrow for it taking sooooooooooooo long to get in the mail.  I have a lot of cards to make (I told you I’m AWFUL about blog candy), and so I needed something pretty simple to create yet easy enough to tweak and make different each time.  The six cards in this post all feature the exact same supply list below.

Supplies Needed: 
A2 Card base
eCraft
Fundamentals 2 SD Card
Background paper cut at 4 x 5.25
Adhesive (Tombo Mono Adhesive)
Scallop Trim Border Punch (Stampin’ Up)
K Andrew Designs Art Stamps Sympathetic Sayings
Ink (Memento Tuxedo Black)
3 coordinating colors of paper for butterfly cuts
 

The butterflies were all cut at 2.5 inches from 3 different papers.  I used one sheet of open stock paper I bought at Joann’s (the patterned paper butterfly) and then the other two colors are just random paper from my stash.  The background mat I used came from a Recollections stack called All Girl or something similar.  I don’t have it handy to look it up for you.  The sentiment is from this set by Kristal Andrew and can be purchased here.

If you have won blog candy from me, one of these cards (or something similar) could be on its way to you soon!

 
 
9 thoughts on “6 Degrees of Sorry

  1. Oh Faith, you crack me up 🙂 I am sure blog candy is kind of a sore spot with a few people for the reasons you mentioned. I have to admit that sometimes the blog candy is what draws me in, but then I am a follower forever – I have never dropped a blog so of course I am trying to follow about 200, not very well I have to admit, but I do try. I don’t think you owe my any candy – I tend to forget after a while if I haven’t received it – but I am sure the recipients of your candy will love these beautiful cards 🙂 And hopefully they have not been bugging you about it – that would just be rude. I hope you get caught up soon dear, for your sake. I feel bad that you feel guilty about something that should be a treat to begin with and you should not feel obligated to offer it.

    Hugs!

  2. Blog candy is not supposed to be a stressor Faith. The cards that came of it are beautiful as you know I love butterflies and pink and purples. I am not always able to comment but am always here reading your posts and cheering you on (see my pom poms :D)

    Happy Scrappin’

    Sue B

  3. Personally I read your blog and others for inspiration. I almost feel like I am your friend and others friends hearing about how people create things and their day and family life. My goal was to have my own blog and share my own projects. But I have failed at that miserably. Some of my favorite blogs to follow and be a part of do not have “candy”! Personally “candy” for me is reading the blog! Don’t stress about the candy… Life is too short!

  4. I love all 6 of your cards!!! I don’t really comment for blog candy, but it’s nice to win. I like it when ppl comments on my blog, so I like to comment on other blogs, I don’t know about anybody else but it makes me feel good knowing someone likes my work.

  5. Hi, Faith. I agree that blog candy is a sore spot for a lot of people, myself included. Like, Becky, I have never quit following a blog after a giveaway ends and even if I happen to win something, I try very hard to be patient and not pester the giver although I do follow up one time if I don’t receive it after a month’s time. I have only offered candy twice on my blog but what I do is get the package ready to ship before the giveaway ends so that all I have to do is slap the mailing label on it and take it to the post office. If you’re in the US you can purchase a small postage scale from the post office or any number of other places and use it to weigh the package so you can do the shipping label and postage on the USPS website. Then you just have to put it out for the mailman to pick up. These are just suggestions to make it as painless as possible if you intend to continue offering candy on your blog.

    The thing that bothers me is when someone offers candy in order to increase their followers/subscribers and then makes up excuses for not sending the prize to the winner until they finally start ignoring them altogether. I had this happen to me this past June and I still have not received the candy. I won a very nice prize from a well-known blogger in Australia and after 4 months of excuses, she quit responding to my emails. I didn’t bug her about it and waited approximately a month between messages. She kept asking for my address, which I supplied 4 times! Under normal circumstances, I wouldn’t have worried about it at all but as I have been unemployed for 14 months and have no extra money for crafting supplies, I was really looking forward to receiving that prize. Had she even offered an honest explanation of why she couldn’t follow through with her promise, I would have forgiven and forgotten. However, I can’t abide by people who lie and avoid me rather than telling me the truth! I have plenty of patience when it comes to receiving freebies that will keep me crafting until I find a new job but I have no tolerance at all for liars. Okay, off my soapbox now. Just wanted you to know that most people will understand if you tell them what’s going on and if they don’t, it’s their problem. And on the other hand, if it really bugs you to deal with it, you aren’t required to offer it at all. I don’t because I can’t afford to. Best wishes to you. I’m a relatively new subscriber but I read every post and will comment when I feel moved to do so. Today, I felt moved. LOL

  6. Faith, your cards are very pretty. I know you’ve got a lot of things going on with design teams and raising your family and having a blog, etc. I don’t have a blog because I can’t imagine finding the time to put into it and posting, even occassionally. I hope all goes well with you and your family and that you can feel less stressed very soon.

Leave a Reply

