A springless Side Spring

Yesterday you  may recall me telling you how I’ve been suffering from insomnia lately right?!?!?  Last night I actually managed to make it to bed early for a change.  12:30 in the morning is awfully early don’t you think?  I’m proud of myself…lately I’ve been forcing myself into bed at 5 or 6 am only to have to be awake again at 7 when the kids get up and the nephew comes knocking.  With all the sleep I got last night I could be dangerous today…watch out!

At any rate, when I came across another Splitcoast Stampers video that I decided I’d try.  It’s officially called the Side Spring Card, but there’s not really anything springie about it.  At least not IMHO anyway.  Nonetheless, it’s a a pretty quick and easy card to create and a fun new fold.  I like new folds…I mean really there are only so many things you can do with an A2 surface right?!?!?  Here’s the video I watched:

And here’s my version of this card:

Supplies Needed:
One 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ piece of cardstock
Scoring tool (I used my MS Scoreboard)
Additional cardstock and/or patterned paper to decorate the card
Stamps (K Andrew Art Stamps Crafty Friends set used here)
Adhesive (tombow mono adhesive and score tape)
Embellishments (buttons and twine)
Lacey Squares by Spellbinders
Classic Squares by Spellbinders
Versafine Ink
Martha Stewart Butterfly Punch Around the Page edge punch

The only thing I did differently from the video was add the little piece of pattered paper in the triangle at the bottom left and I applied a strip of score-tape on both sides to stabilize the diamond shape a little better.  Oh yeah and I didn’t round the corners of my card either.  I think I will be making more cards like this in the future, only with a slight twist so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

