Chicken South of the Border

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
12 flower tortillas
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 C milk
1/4 onion, finely chopped
3.5 oz. mild taco sauce
1 lb medium cheddar cheese shredded

Boil chick and break into pieces.  Grease a 9 x 13 inch pan.  Cut tortillas into 1 inch strips and line bottom of pan.  Put broken chicken pieces over tortillas.  Combine remaining ingredients except cheese.  Pour the soup mixture over the chicken.  Top with shredded cheese.  Repeat for 3 layers.  Refrigerate for 24 hours if possible.  Bake at 300 for 1 to 1.5 hours or until it bubbles.  Makes 10-12 servings.

This is what mine looked like before cooking.
After cooking


Some changes I made…I used jack cheese instead of cheddar and I doubled the recipe because I used more chicken than it calls for.  My girls and I liked it…my son not so much.  If I make this dish again in the future, I will put the sauce and chicken over rice instead of tortillas.  Recipe comes from Worldwide Ward Cookbook:  Secret Recipes and was found on page 133.

Leave a Reply

