Happiness is an inside job

Welcome to 2012 everyone!  I hope you have had a glorious and safe New Year so far and pray that Heavenly Father will fill your 2012 with everything you need.  What have you resolved to do this year?  I’ll let you know what my New Year’s resolutions are as soon as I figure out what they will be.  Today though, I wanted to show off something I made recently.  I have first hand experience that the sentiment on this card is indeed true…Happiness is very much an inside job.

 Isn’t that dress just adorable?  Many thanks to my good friend and DT Sister Sherry from Up or Down They’re Beautiful for gifting me the dress form dies from Spellbinders.  Thank you my friend I love them and can’t wait to make more things with them.

Additional Supplies Needed:
This tutorial  from Splitcoast Stampers
Lace
K Andrew Designs Art Stamps (Positive Thoughts)
Ink (Versafine used here)
Martha Stewart Border Punch (I don’t remember which sorry)
Paper for the pocket tags and inside 
Victorian Velvet Distress Ink
Homemade Ink Blending Tool
Verve stamps (birds and flowers)

I followed the original instructions for the double pocket card, but I wanted the card to open at the top and so I just made a card base to attach it too.  In the first pocket I put this tag:

There are no specific dimensions for how I cut this insert.  I just…yup you guessed it…winged it.  I wing it a lot in my crafting actually.  The inside tag for the second pocket looks like this:

And then finally there’s the inside of the card which looks like this:

The paper I used on the inside is a pale pink pearlescent paper from Colorbok that I got at Wal-Mart.  I added some ribbon and a bow I tied using my hideously ugly bow board and stamped another sentiment from the Positive Thoughts set.  I’m currently working on something fun with a corset and trying to re-film my toilet paper core album video so please check back to see both!

One thought on “Happiness is an inside job

  1. Hi Faith.
    I think that God is working through you in this creation & post . . . .
    The card you made is very fitting for the sentiment: Happiness is an inside job. It is true to say to so many women. We tend to beat ourselves down right along with the rest of the world. Sad, but true. Who teaches us this and why do we fall in to it. So when I see that honest sentiment along with a dress, it rings in my heart. I lift my chin up, tell myself that as a woman I am important and that I am strong. I am not going to let the world, society, my church, hubby or kids get me down. I am going to look at who I am, as the beautiful creation of a compassionate, caring woman that God made me. I am going to rejoice in the good news of Christ and that I am a child of God.
    Thanks Faith. Thank God for using Faith. Thank you Faith for letting God use you as an instrument. I really, really needed this today.

Leave a Reply

