Bierochs/Runza

Before I get into the ingredients and stuff for this dish I have to tell you a little story about it.  While visiting a friend of mine in Nebraska, her husband the Wookie (no really he is almost as hairy as Chewbacca) treated me to this yummy goodness called a Runza.  And, as luck would have it, there aren’t ANY Runza stores where I live.  I’ve Googled recipes for them a few times and then I came across this recipe I’m going to share with you all now and realized…DUH!  Bierochs = RUNZA!!!! YUM!

The official recipe comes from the same cookbook I featured before…Worldwide Ward Cookbook (available from Deseret Book) and is found on page 149.  I will confess.  I used most of the ingredients the recipe calls for but didn’t use the measurements.  I winged it…yeah that’s how I roll when I cook.

1 small head cabbage, chopped
1/4 tsp garlic
1 onion, chopped
1 lb ground beef (I used ground turkey)
2 C. cheese, shredded, divided
Pepper
Beau Monde seasoning (this is a fancy name for Seasoning Salt lol)
Bread dough or frozen roll dough, thawed (now if you are REAL ambitious you could make your own bread…I am lazy)
 

In a large saucepan, cook cabbage, garlic and onion until soft and transparent.  In a skillet, brown ground beef.  In a large bowl, combine cabbage mixture, browned beef, and 1 C. cheese.  Season with pepper and Beau Monde seasoning to taste.  Pinch dough into pieces about the size of a very small roll.  Flatten dough with your hand.  Place about 1 to 1 1/2 tbsp. cabbage and beef filling onto dough.  Place more shredded cheese on top.  Fold dough up around filling, forming a stuffed roll.  Place on greased baking sheet.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until light brown. Makes 18-24 rolls.

NOW….let’s get real about what I did…

I broke out my Ninja chopper for the first time and used it to chop about half a medium sized yellow onion and dumped that into a frying pan.  Next I cut about 3/4 of a small cabbage into “Ninja” sized chunks and let the Ninja mince them up, then added that to the onion.  To that I added 2 heaping tablespoons of minced garlic.  I DID cook that till tender like the recipe said though.  When done, I then added about 1/3rd of a 5 lb roll of ground turkey to the pan and cooked it all together.  I added pepper and regular old seasoning salt (because I couldn’t find Beau Monde at the store) to taste.  I used 3 loaves of white bread from ummmm something famous but I can’t remember.  Rowe’s I think…something like that.  Anyway…I rolled the dough out till it was about half or maybe 3/4 the size of a saucer and filled the “center line” with the meat mixture (with no cheese).  From there I rolled up all the sides and pinched it all together real good to seal (some sealed better than others).  These stuffed “buns” were placed on a foil lined cookie sheet (so easy to clean up) and baked till done.  Probably longer than 20 minutes cuz they were HUGE, but I’m not sure how long the total cook time was.  Just before serving them, I pulled them out of the oven and coated them in cheese then returned them to the oven long enough for the cheese to melt.  Here’s what our finished mystery meal looked like:

Leave a Reply

