Crockery Pot Taco Casserole

Sunday’s in my home is what we call mystery meal night.  This is better than it sounds actually…it’s an opportunity for us to try a new recipe.  Usually I plan a new recipe and do the cooking, but sometimes the girls take that over.  For me, I try to make these meals crock pot meals since I can have it on and cooking while we’re getting our praise on and then when we get home from Church, dinner is pretty much done.  Today though nothing has gone according to planned.  I have had a migraine for 3 days and skipped church as a result.  My loving and faithful Home Teachers took my kids though and report that they were incredibly well-behaved and did a great job.  I love getting that feedback.  Anyway…so I should have gone to the store last night to put this together earlier today, but I didn’t.  We will wind up having a very late dinner tonight as a result, but it is what it is.  Here’s what we’re trying:

 

From the Kitchen of:  Pepper

 1 lb ground beef or turkey (I used turkey)
1 med onion chopped (I used half a large onion)
1 clove garlic minced
1/2 cup green pepper, chopped (I used one whole bell pepper)
2 drops Tabasco sauce (I just shook the bottle two or three times over the meat mixture)
1 can tomato sauce
1 tsp chili powder
1 cup frozen corn
2 cans chili with beans
3/4 lb grated cheese
1 and 1/2 cups nacho cheese tortilla chips (I used Doritos)

Brown ground meat and drain. Add onion, garlic and pepper and cook until transparent. Add remaining Tabasco, tomato sauce, and chili powder. Grease Crockery Pot and layer in 5 layers, beginning with meat mixture and Nacho cheese tortilla chips, then the corn, chili, and grated cheese. Cover and cook 6 to 8 hours on low.

I of course didn’t quite do things the way the directions say.  In addition to the differences noted above, I didn’t have any cloves or minced garlic around so I just shook some garlic powder into the mix.  We like garlic so I probably used a couple of teaspoons of garlic powder.  I also doubled the recipe because I have a big crock pot.  In doing this blog post though, I realized I should have used 4 cans of chili instead of just the two that I used.  That’s probably a good thing because I’m not sure I could have squeezed two more cans in the crock pot.  I used more corn too, 1 entire large bag of frozen corn.  Finally, I used extra cheese because well in this house cheese is kinda like chocolate…it makes just about everything better.  I forgot to take pictures of the layering process, but here’s what it looks like after I finished layering it:

Due to the lateness of the hour, I’ll be cooking it on high for half the time and we still have a few hours before it’s due to be done so I’ll get back to you on what it takes like.  This much I DO know though…it smells divine!!!

One thought on “Crockery Pot Taco Casserole

Leave a Reply

