The eyes have it!

I know I said Thursdays were DIY days but I had dreams about all the DIY stuff I had wanted to make yesterday and never got around to making.  SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO it’s DIY Thursday the remix.  Today we have two items for you.  The first is all about the eyes!

There was a day when I wouldn’t leave my house with a completely painted face.  Full eye makeup (typically at least 3 different eye colors, eye liner, brow liner, and mascara), cheek color, bronzer, lip liner and lip stick and lip gloss and and and….yeah I know tiring isn’t it?!?!?  Anyway…those days have LONG gone and when I wear makeup it’s about .25 as much and .10 as often.  Today’s DIY project isn’t really about me obviously lol.  I do however, have a more or less teenager…and she can barely check the mail without putting on all the makeup she’s allowed to wear.  This includes lip gloss and mascara exclusively LOL.  With just this ONE mascara hound in the house, we go through a lot of eye makeup remover.  When used to pedal my pink cosmetic company wares, I used their product…which I loved, but it’s not cheap. I finally ran out of my last bottle not to long ago and had to find a replacement.  To bad I didn’t know about this recipe then.  To replace my usual eye makeup remover I went with this one:

It’s about 6 bucks maybe 7 a bottle at my local Wal-Mart.  This stuff works pretty good, but has some cons…namely it has a HUGE opening so there’s a lot of waste.  It also has to be shaken each time you use it (which takes extra time and I’m lazy) and I have to drive to the store to get it which takes more time and gas.  It leaves a residue behind (the pink stuff did too actually) that, even though it SAYS is oil-free feels a lot like oil.  Finally, at 3.8 oz it’s JUST over the limit for your carry on baggage so you have to have a travel sized bottle to go with it if you ever take a trip.  So…like the header on my blog says….why do it THEIR way if you can DIY it instead, so I did.

I found this recipe on Pinterest.  Man I love that place.  The original recipe came from the blog adelynStone.  You can find it here.  Yes…you guessed it…I altered this recipe too LOL.  Here’s what you need to get started:

My recipe and instructions go like this:

2 cups warm water

3.5 tablespoons baby soap

1/4 tsp baby oil (you could probably omit this or use a different kind of oil if you have some aversion to mineral oil)

Stir your water and baby soap together.  Once mixed, add your baby oil and stir again.  Pour into the containers of your choice.  My containers are 97 cents a piece and have a flip top lid with a tiny hole in it for easier application and less waste.  Ranga was a naughty girl last night and didn’t take her mascara off before bed so she got to try this stuff this morning before school.  Here’s the result:

She uses Almay one-coat nourishing mascara.  I asked her to give me her honest opinion of the stuff…she said “I like it a lot because I can use less and it doesn’t leave residue.”  She later informed me that she is really loving all these DIY things I’m doing and thinks it’s something she will take with her into her own family one day.

Now…let’s talk about cost savings shall we.  I made two batches (so double the instructions I posted above) and got four 3 oz bottles plus two small mason jars full of eye makeup remover.  I think each jar holds a cup…8 oz.  So…let’s guesstimate that doubling the recipe yielded 28 oz of  eye makeup remover.  Here’s the financial break down as best I can calculate it:

1 20 oz bottle of baby oil – 2.47

1 28 oz bottle of baby wash – 2.98

Now…I had to go to Google to figure out the math here…one tablespoon equals half an ounce.  So there is enough baby soap to make 16 batches of remover.  There are .04 oz of baby oil in this recipe so the bottle of baby oil yields enough product make 500 batches.  Hee hee that’s a LOT.  The baby soap per batch costs 19 cents and the baby oil costs .004 cents.  Assuming you already have a container you can store it in, you can make 28 oz of eye makeup remover for  38.008 cents.  Yes…you read that right THRITY EIGHT cents.  I would need over 7 bottles to get the same amount of Neutrogena oil-free eye makeup remover.

38.008 cents versus 42 dollars…I’ll let you decide but as for me and my house well….we won’t be buying eye makeup remover anymore.

Leave a Reply

