DIY toothpaste

Eureka I have found the cure to the age-old fight over toothpaste tubes and do you squeeze from the bottom or the middle.  Oh yeah and it’s a great way to save money too!  Yep I sure did make my own toothpaste.  Now I have to tell you that this is EPIC for me to even try because all the recipes I found use one main ingredient…baking soda.  My Daddy has a sure-fire cure to fix just about everything….baking soda water.  I can’t stand it.  The baking soda aftertaste brings back some really unpleasant memories so suffice it to say, I don’t drink baking soda water.  We go through a lot of toothpaste around here.  I wish I could say it’s because we brush our teeth all the dang time but alas…it’s mostly because the kids leave the cap off, it dries out and gets nasty.  Then, to use it, you have to pry/dig out the dried toothpaste and well yeah it’s just a hassle.   Last week when Ranga and I were DIYing Febreeze and fabric softener she asked if I thought we could make our own toothpaste.  Sure enough…we can.

The recipe and instructions came from the DIY Natural blog.  Specifically, this link.  In the instructions in this recipe, it said to use sea salt, baking soda, and extract if you want to flavor it , so here’s what I did:

Here’s what you’ll need:

About 3/4 cup baking soda

3 handfuls of water (more of you want it thinner, less if you want it thicker)

1 vial of Wilton’s Peppermint Candy extract (I got mine in a 3-pack at Wal-Mart)

1 storage container (I mixed my toothpaste right in my container)

Sea Salt (or other coarse salt) if desired

Now…here’s what I did.  First I ground some of my sea salt into the bottom of my storage container…I didn’t use enough (3 twists of the shaker) and either I ground it too fine or didn’t use enough because I can’t taste or feel the sea salt.  My toothpaste seems to work very well regardless though.  Next pour the entire vial of peppermint candy extract into the container.  You may want to use more.  I guesstimate that this is maybe a teaspoon or two  and it does taste minty but there is still strong baking soda taste too  In future batches, I will use more extract.  Next you need to add water, a handful at a time and stir it into the baking soda, extract, salt mixture until it reaches your desired consistency.  Here’s what my finished product looked like:

I don’t have savings information available because I buy huge bags of baking soda and sea salt grinders at Costco so I’m not sure what they cost.  Here’s the information from the DIY Natural blog though:

THE COST SAVINGS WILL BE BETWEEN $4.09 – $3.57 PER TUBE!

Aside from cost, there are many other benefits of homemade products.  By making this toothpaste not only are we cutting costs by upwards of 300%, we also know the exact ingredients and count time spent as fun, educational, and useful for all involved!

My 11-year-old daughter used this toothpaste right after having made it and she says “I like it because it’s not gritty and it cleans my mouth really well.”  I also used it and agree on how well it cleans my mouth.  And, while the baking soda taste is present, it’s not stronger than I can bear.  If you decided to DIY your own toothpaste (or anything else you’ve seen on my blog) I’d love to know about it!

Leave a Reply

