Happy birthday with style

Funny what you find when you clean your room up isn’t it?  I needed some time alone with my thoughts and am too high-strung to just sit and think so my  thoughts and I hung out and cleaned up my “scred”-room tonight this morning last night or whatever you want to call it.  Anywayz….I totally forgot about having made this card for my daughter’s birthday back in ummmm the leprechaun month (shame on me that was so long ago right?!?!?).

Supplies Needed:
Spellbinders Die Set of Choice (I used one of the label ones but forget which one now)
Hero Arts Style Is Eternal Stamp and Die kit
Ink (I used Memento Tuxedo Black)
K Andrew Designs Fashionable Friends Stamp Set
Paper for card base (here I used Colorbok)
Paper for mat (from my stash)
Paper for stamped diva (from my stash)
Bling (stash)
Marker/Pen/Pencil to color in headband if desired

Ok…now how to recreate this awesome card (my daughter thought it was awesome anyway).  First you wanna take the Spellbinders die of your choice and the paper you’re using for your card base.  You will fold your card base paper in half and it should be about .5 inch larger than whatever die you are using on all sides.  Next you want to place your die so that part of it is inside or under the cutting ridge.  Here are some great videos for how to create shaped cards with Spellbinders dies (no time to reinvent the wheel):

And, in case Beate’s video doesn’t do it for you, you can also check out the photo tutorial my good friend miss Gaby posted on her blog right here!

OK…so now that we got that out-of-the-way move onto a “mat” piece by cutting the shame shape you used for your card base a size or two smaller.  Adhere to card base and set aside.  Next, pull out your white scrap and ink up your little diva from the Hero Arts set and then stamp it somewhere on your scrap piece.  Once it’s dry, you’ll want to cut it out using the matching die.  I suppose you could cut first and then stamp but I didn’t.

Now…using the “I like your style” sentiment from K Andrew Designs, mask off the “your style” (in other words tape over it) and ink up the stamp then remove tape and stamp the “I like” wherever you want it.  Do the same thing only this time masking off  “I like” and stamping “your style”.  Add a little bling to the corner if desired and voilà!  Inside I stamped Happy Birthday or some sort of birthday wish with stamps that also came from K Andrew Designs.  I was so excited to find this card again I didn’t bother to even look inside to see which sets I stamped in there.  I’m thinking it was Owly Hoo and Coffee and Tea for You and Me, but I can’t be certain.

 TTFN!

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday with style

  1. Very nice for a young girl–not too grown up, but a little mature. Ilike the causal style of the card itself. Very nice Faithie. I may have to use this idea for Em’s bday this Saturday.

Leave a Reply

