Everything Smells Like Roses

At least everything in my home right now anyway.  Today I have two DIY projects to share with you.  They are both inspired by the Stampbusters Series by Linda Heller at Where The Rubber Hits The Road.  In one of her Stampbusters videos she compares various DIY stamp cleaner formulas to the Stampin’ Up brand.  The recipe she found to work best involved rose water.  I need more stamp cleaner for those occasions I use my StayzOn and thought I’d check out the prices of rose-water.  That stuff ain’t cheap folks and I am so broke if I didn’t have a cell phone I couldn’t even call someone who cared lol.  So…what do I do when I’m too cheap broke to afford something I want or need…two things.  Research to see if I can do it myself, or go without till I can afford it.

So…since the best stamp cleaner involved rose-water and I didn’t have any and am too broke to go and buy any, I started searching DIY methods for making your own.  I was pretty sure it was as simple as boiling rose petals in water, but (just in case it was more complicated) I had to be sure.  Yes I know…I can be a tad OCD sometimes.  Guess what…it can be as simple as simmering (not boiling) petals in water to something much more complicated.  Here are some various methods I read about:

From an article at Peta.org:

Rose Water Toner
1 cup rose petals (rinsed)
2 cups boiling filtered water
1 spray bottle

  • Place the rose petals in a pot or metal bowl.
  • Pour the water over the petals and cover.
  • Let soak for 3 to 4 hours.
  • Using a strainer, pour the rose-water into a spray bottle.

Stores in the fridge for up to one week

From an article at Cabingoddess.com:

DIY Rose Water
  • Petals from two fresh roses
  • Distilled or filtered water
Place petals and 1/4 inch of distilled water in a small saucepan. Warm slowly until the petals turn translucent. Strain and use the liquid for cooking. Store in a refrigerator.From an article at Tipnut.com:Items Needed:Fresh petals (3 to 4 quarts)
Ice cubes
Distilled Water
Enamel canning or stock pot with lid
Deep, heavy heat proof bowlDirections:
  • Fill the bottom of the pot with the petals and pour water over them until they are just covered. Place the bowl in the middle of the pot. The rim should be at least a couple inches higher than the water. If you have a canning rack, you can set the bowl on top of that so the bowl doesn’t sit directly over the heat. A pyrex loaf dish underneath the bowl would do the trick too. Set these in place first before adding the petals and water.
  • Cover the pot with its lid, but position the lid upside down so that you have a dipped “container” to hold the ice on top (to be added later). Now turn on the heat and bring the water to a boil.
  • Once it starts boiling, fill the top of the inverted pot lid with ice cubes. Turn the heat down and keep at a bare simmer for about two hours.
  • Top up the ice as needed and quickly peek occasionally to see that the petals don’t boil dry.
This process will enable condensation to form on the top inside of the pot lid. The condensation will drip down into the bowl inside the pot, the liquid inside the bowl is your rose-water.

Those aren’t even all the recipes I looked at either…several involved a brick and ice and hours upon hours.  Being fresh out of bricks and ice and too impatient to wait hours, I decided to just wing it (yeah I know I do that a lot).  When my kiddos woke up this morning I asked them to go peruse our neighborhood and ask people for some of their beautiful roses.  I told them to pick the ones that smelled the most and bring me as many as they could.  They then pulled all the petals off the roses and I went to work.

 
Supplies Needed: 
Tons of rose petals (we used various colors)
Old stock pot
Water
Wooden Spoon
 

After the kids pulled off all the petals, I dumped them into the pan.  Then I filled the pan with just enough water so that when the petals were all submerged there was about an inch or two of water above them.  The petals float so I had to use a wooden spoon to push them down.  Here’s what it looked like:

I know you can’t really tell that there’s water in there but I promise there IS water in there!  I let this cook until the roses lost most of their color then strained the water into a container.  Here’s what my petals looked like when I took them off the heat:

I don’t remember the kids having yellow roses so I think those might have been orange when I started, but I’m not sure that matters.  After straining, my rose-water looked like this:

I got about 3.5 quarts of rose-water.  It smells SOOOOOOOOOOOOO good.  I have heard and read you can cook with it, but I’m not that brave!  Instead I will be using this in my stamp cleaner recipe and perhaps as a toner/astringent (by adding a bit of vodka and letting it infuse with the rose-water).  Don’t worry…TipNut and lots of other websites say it can be done…see:

“Beauty Aid Additive Use: Add 1 part rubbing alcohol or vodka or witch hazel to 10 parts rose-water to use as a facial astringent or toner.”

 Stay tuned for another post later today where I show you my DIY stamp cleaner!

2 thoughts on “Everything Smells Like Roses

  1. Ohhh the reason I have the rose water recipe is I cook with it. Like in pancakes? Or syrups.. or *GRIN* GLAD to be here!! Add some sugar to it and have a glass of sweetened rose water!

  2. Oh, you can definitely cook with rosewater! I love to make ice cream, and one of my favorite kinds to make is pistachio-rosewater ice cream, an idea I got from the book The Kite Runner (the kids at one point eat rosewater ice cream topped with pistachios and I was like, “MUST MAKE ICE CREAM”). Then later there was a recipe in the book for Pistachio Rosewater Cupcakes in the book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, which, of course, takes rosewater.

    Next time I’m at my father’s house I’m going to have to collect rose petals from his bushes! WOW. I always bought my rosewater from Indian grocers.

Leave a Reply

