Mistaken excellence!

Oh man I just love it when a mistake turns into something even better than I was trying to do in the first place.  In case you haven’t been paying attention to me on Facebook, I’m pretty much addicted to everything Kathy Orta of Paper Phenomenon does.  Recently I was watching her Retro Mini series on U-Stream and decided to make my own.  I know she calls this album a mini, but it’s HUGE.  Her finished book pages measure 9 x 10.  I didn’t have enough 12 x 12 cardstock for the base pages and so I had to modify the dimensions.  In modifying the dimensions for one of Kathy’s page styles, I completely screwed up my cutting…at least that’s what I thought until I heard Kathy’s voice in my head saying “make it work people” and so I did.  This is the page style I came up with:

I am absolutely THRILLED with the way it’s coming together so far.  The page base is done from Paper Accents Cream paper (it’s the brand Kathy swears by) and the designer paper is the Lady Couture stack from DCWV.  I have inked the white core on the paper with Old Paper distress ink.  It’s perfect for this…covers the core but doesn’t really look totally inked.  I still need to round the right corners, punch out my notches in my pockets, and decide if I’m going to add a photo mat section in the bottom left corner or leave it as it is or….but so far….to quote the McDonald’s commercials “I’m loving it!”

One thought on “Mistaken excellence!

Leave a Reply

