A single issue

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  Families are central to Heavenly Father’s plan and that includes a husband, wife, and their children.  My family is not at all your “average LDS family”.  I’m not sure what the “average LDS family” even looks like, but I know that most of the time I am pretty sure it’s a lot different from how my current family looks.

I have been divorced now for several years.  I’m still not dating; I’m not sure I trust my judgement.  Most of the time I’m perfectly fine with my no-dating decision; it’s not like I have tons of free time to invest into dating and or a relationship anyway.  There are however, times that it really gets to me.  Times like a few weeks ago at church.

The counselor conducting Relief Society (our women’s organization) announced the Ward (congregation) party coming up on July 31st.  She mentioned how the last one we had like this was just for the women, but this time we got to bring our husbands and enjoy time together as adults.  I don’t have a husband and for the first time in a long time I ALMOST wished I did.

This is my single issue…when there are “couples” events in the ward and I am alone.  It’s not like when there’s father/daughter events for my girls or father/son events for my son and they can borrow someone’s dad, use our home teacher, have Grandpa stand in or either of their uncles or whatever.  “Can I borrow your husband for a couples event?”  AWKWARD!!!

So what’s a girl to do…this girl will just keep doing what she’s been doing and not attend these events.  Even if doing so makes me feel a little left out.

Leave a Reply

