Baking my soda

to make washing soda.  Who knew right?!?!?  I sure didn’t.  In fact, I kind of came across it by accident.  I was looking for something else entirely (don’t get my lying about what it was cuz I have no idea right now) when I came across numerous blogs that said by baking your baking soda it actually turns into washing soda.  Washing soda is a staple around here for laundry detergent, dish washer detergent and countless other things.  It’s not even terribly expensive either, but it’s not as cheap as baking soda is.  Remember my previous post…I pay 3 cents an ounce for baking soda.  In store washing soda costs about $4 a box for a 55 oz box…I haven’t bought any in a while so I forget exactly.  Anyway, at this price it breaks down to 7 cents an ounce…more than double what baking soda costs and all I have to is heat it.  So I figured hmmmmm lemme try it.  Here’s my cookie sheet covered in baking soda (please excuse the dirty stove):

I baked my soda on 400 for about an hour.  When finished it looked like this:

It is extremely hard to tell in these photos bout after about an hour in the office my baking soda looked, smelled, and felt like washing soda.  One of the websites I came across saying you could bake your soda and make washing soda was Penniless Parenting and she offered a scientific explanation.  I myself am going to trust her because I only passed chemistry due my exemplary test-taking skills.  She says “the difference between baking soda and washing soda is water and carbon dioxide. Seriously. Baking soda’s chemical makeup is NaHCO3 (1 sodium, 1 hydrogen, one carbon, and 3 oxygen molecules). Washing soda’s chemical makeup is Na2CO3 (2 sodium, 1 carbon, and 3 oxygen molecules). When baking soda is heated up to high temperatures, it breaks down to become washing soda, water steam, and carbon dioxide.  By cooking your baking soda, you can easily and safely get washing soda without needing to travel to far flung places to buy it, and you can make as much as you need at a time and don’t need to lay out a lot of money on buying washing soda. (If you buy baking soda in bulk as I do, you can make washing soda especially cheaply.)”

You can bet I’m gonna save those 4 pennies per ounce (not to mention the drive time, gas, and anxiety that comes with a Wal-Mart run) and continue baking my soda whenever I need washing soda!

Leave a Reply

