Sometimes you just have to wait

I drank way too many Diet Dr. Peppers late tonight (well last night actually) and am still wide awake.  As I sat at my desk rummaging through the things I still hadn’t gotten put away I came across this black ribbon and electric blue lace.  It inspired me to whip up a card and I’ve decided to mail this card to my oldest daughter in one of my nifty DIY bubble envelopes.  It’s really rather simple, but I’m sure she’ll love it all the same!

Supplies Needed:
A2 Card Base (mine is Core’dinations)
1 41/8 by 53/8 (use solid color)
1 4 by 51/4 mat designer paper mat (mine is K & Company)
Lace (Joann’s — 1.99 for 4 yards)
Ribbon (stash)
Adhesive (hot glue, foam dots, ATG)
Spellbinders Beaded Ovals, Small and Large Classic Ovals
Manual die cutting machine (mine is the Grand Calibur)
Ink (I used Memento)
Verve Stamps (New Mercies)
Heat fix bling
Hot fix tool (or I-Rock)
String of pearls

Ok…ready set go…adhere your solid colored mat to your card base and set aside.  Hot glue your lace to your ribbon then affix to your patterned paper mat and hot glue your string of pearls.  Using the manual die cutting machine of your choice cut the largest beaded oval die in your card base color, cut the largest of your two ovals using the same color as your solid mat, and finally cut the smaller of your ovals on a light piece of cardstock (I used white) for maximum clarity with your sentiment.  This sentiment comes from the New Mercies set by Verve and is perfect for my daughter who is struggling to wait upon the Lord for the deepest desires of her heart.  I hope it will encourage her and brighten her day both.

Next I matted the larger of the plain ovals to the beaded oval using homemade foam dots, stamped my sentiment, adhered it to the oval with my ATG and then used more foam dots to pop it up off the card a bit.  I was originally oriented this card vertically, but liked the horizontal look better and re-did it.  Once my beaded oval was adhered to my card base I placed heat set bling to the center of each bead on my oval and really love how doing so gave this project some extra pizzazz.

Be sure to head over to Verve where all stamps are 20% off through the 4th!  When you place your order, tell Katrina and Julee I sent you!

Leave a Reply

