Why just OK he says

There’s this kid I know.  Correction, there’s this young man I know (Look Ryan I admitted in print for EVERYONE to see that you are indeed a man) and he’s one of very few people I have in my life that genuinely want to know a real answer when asking how I am.  It took me a while to figure that out though.  Be it text or in person, when he asks how I’m doing I almost always respond with “I’m OK.”  When I saw him last he gave me a huge big hug (which fixed a lot of things let me tell you) and when I replied “I’m OK” he immediately asked “why just OK” that’s when it hit me…maybe what he’s really asking is why do I choose to be just OK when there are so many other things I could be instead.  Here are some other options:

fabulous
magnificent
wonderful
great
amazing
splendid
happy
fantastic
awesome
spectacular
perfect

Whenever he says “Why just OK” I have to stop and think wait why am I just OK?  His question always leaves me thinking about why is it that I’m really only OK.  At the moment, I’m not sure I can tell you I know what it’s going to take for me to go from OK to any of those other adjectives listed above, but I do know it’s going to take effort and I’m willing to make the effort.  Maybe the next time I get this “Why just OK” question, I’ll have a way different answer for him.

Leave a Reply

